Relationship Deadline

I never thought I’d have a relationship with a deadline. I’ve always thought of myself as a strong, independent young woman who would never let a guy dictate her life choices, but after putting off grad school because of male drama, I couldn’t believe I had let myself allow someone else to influence my path. I could’ve been at school right now, but instead pushed it off for a year. I thought it would be good to stay single until September when I leave. It made sense. Why would I date anyone if I’m leaving the country for at least a year? But unfortunately, my heart leads over my head, and my ex-boyfriend and I have decided to give this thing another go, with the knowledge that I will be leaving in September, and at that point, our relationship is over. With this sad ultimatum, we agreed that we’d go our separate ways amicably, and that we would stay friends. While it may seem dumb to go through another heartbreak when it comes time to say goodbye, I am a true believer in the phrase, “Better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all.” And while it’s going to hurt tremendously when I leave, I think spending time with a person you care about is majorly important, even if you don’t see a future with them.

Relationships with deadlines are hard because it needs to be a mutual decision, and both sides have to understand the motive behind it. Our status as a couple won’t end because I can’t handle a long distance relationship. I need my freedom while I’m abroad, or else I might miss out on opportunities or never meet the true love of my life. But in the meantime, I want to be around my boyfriend and enjoy the seven months I have left with him, even with the agreement that there is an expiration date. I need to go away to grad school for me. I need to put myself first this year and be in London so I can follow my dreams. I cannot let a guy hold me back again. My plane ticket is already purchased, so I am leaving. I will not go back on it, and my goals are set.

Leave a Reply

