Skype Talk

The interview went well. I got up at 5:30am to prepare myself and get pretty, but then it turned out to be just a voice call, so all that beautification was for nothing. But it’s fine because I prefer a phone call over them seeing my face scrunch up when I’m thinking. But she told me it would be an informal talk, where she’d just ask me a few questions, tell me about the program, and then let me ask anything I had wondered about. It was fairly brief. She wanted to know what kind of stories I want to write, and what my current projects are focused on. She also wanted to know my influences and who my favorite writers are. I tried to be as truthful as possible. The thing is, I haven’t read a book in a long time. I get so distracted when I start one and never end up finishing it. I buy books and then make excuses for why I can’t sit down and actually read them. It’s a problem and I wish I could overcome it, but I’m thinking this program may really help me do that. She mentioned some of the cool projects we would get to do during the course, which include a blog about London, a magazine, and digital forms of writing (such as for apps and video games). I am very excited for those different aspects that we get to explore. At the end of our call, she said she was satisfied and would talk it over with her colleagues and get back to me as soon as possible. I am thinking positive thoughts and hope to hear back by tomorrow, or hopefully Monday or Tuesday, which will allow me plenty of time to accept my PR placement if they send me a rejection. But I am crossing my fingers for a good response so I can start my process into the world of grad school craziness.

Leave a Reply

