Passport Photos: Size Them Right

Passport photos… The most unflattering portrait of yourself that you’ll ever have of yourself… ever. Unfortunately for my UK student visa, I must have them. I submitted my visa application today and set my appointment to be fingerprinted and etc for next week. And now $530 later, I am very much closer to my dream of studying in London. For the appointment, I have to have a lot of original documents and passport photos to turn in, and this has probably been the most stressful part so far, because if I’m missing one thing, my trip down to Seattle is worthless and I have to return again with the right material. So far, after pursuing the required documents pages and reading a million emails, I think I finally have everything I must to make sure I can get my visa send in and finished.

After running around today like a maniac to get passport photos done, I feel that it is my duty to share my knowledge with anyone attempting to do the same thing as I. Make sure the passport photos you get are the right size. After Googling horror stories of being sent away after having the wrong size, I realized that the passport photos I got from Rite Aid were in fact the wrong size. US regulations of passport photos are different from other countries, and you have to make sure you get it right if you don’t want to be spending money on photos you cant use.

unnamed

After realizing my photos weren’t sized right, I had to go to Walgreens to get my photos retaken and printed out in the correct dimensions. Unfortunately, all together I spent $22 on photos that I could’ve only paid for once, so it was definitely a learning experience. Now I have two sets of photos and only one will work, and that’s fine, but sometimes it feels that I’ve already spend a million dollars on this process and that I can’t keep affording to make these dumb mistakes with money matters. But I have my correct size now and hopefully next week will go well and I’ll have my UK student visa by next month!

 

Leave a Reply

