Visa Application Sent

After finishing the grueling application, paying $530, driving all the way to Seattle to get fingerprinted for less than 2-minutes, and then finding out that I had to mail the rest in (not just take it to Seattle with me), I have finally finished the visa application process and now all I have to do is wait for the finished product. The UK visa website says that the average wait currently is 3 weeks, so I am hoping that I will get my accepted visa back by the end of July, and then I will be done with pretty much all required pre-departure paperwork nonsense.

It is such an intense process to go to school in another country. I mean, it’s a big process in America too, but when you’re a citizen of the country, there’s less to do when getting prepared for school. I think this is definitely a show of my character that I’ve stuck with it, even through all this complicated stuff that I wish I could’ve passed off to someone more organized than I. I seriously think I should become a study abroad counselor at a university or something, because I am now a master of getting yourself together when it comes to going to school internationally. This is the second time I’ve done this, and it’s tiring, but so worth it.

When you want something so bad, you’re willing to do whatever it takes to make it happen. I should’ve quit long ago. I actually did. I could’ve been in London right now. I should’ve been doing all of this around this time last year, but I freaked out. I was scared. The process was so big and so scary. But it’s a year later and I made it happen. I pushed past those dumb fears and applied to school, got accepted, won scholarships and am now done with the only thing standing between me and grad school in London.

London is only two and half months away. I can’t believe it. There are days when I wish it would hurry up and get here faster, and then there’s days when I’m happy to take my time and enjoy the last few months I have with my boyfriend and friends. It’s going to be weird, going away from everyone I care about, but I need to take this opportunity and go further my education in Europe, which is where I’ve always dreamed of being, ever since I was a child. I am so ready to be there, but I want to savor the final moments I have with those most dear to me. Life wont stop just because I move away from America. My friends and family will keep living and I’ll start thriving elsewhere. But it’s a major life change, and I am terrified, yet wonderfully excited at the same time.

3 thoughts on “Visa Application Sent

  1. I am really glad I stumbled upon your blog, as I am doing research for my upcoming trip to London in August for grad school (also @ Westminster.) I submitted my info for my Visa a few days before you, so it’s comforting to know I am not the only one going through this big change! You summed it up very well- I am terrified yet very excited about the move. Leaving everyone you know to go to a foreign country is daunting, but it will be so worth it in the end 🙂 I bookmarked your blog so I can keep up with it. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

