Seattle Pride 2014

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I spent my weekend running around Seattle for the second year in a row, enjoying the amazing atmosphere of PrideFest 2014. Last year was my first venture into the city for the event, so I didn’t know what to expect, and it was the most wonderful day of my life. Everyone was so free and open and happy to be who they are. This year was no different.

I was so happy to be back, surrounded by people who are proud of their existence and won’t continue to take any flack from the people who tell them it’s wrong. I myself am an LGBT ally, and fully support rights for all people. I love being in a setting where everyone can be who they want to be and love who they want to love. The feeling is so empowering and special, and Pride really brings it out in me, and the thousands of people who attended the Seattle festival.

This year, I drove down to Seattle on Saturday afternoon to meet up with some friends and go walk around the street fair on Capitol Hill. Unfortunately, the rain was on and off, so it was a bit frustrating to fully enjoy the outdoor experience. One of my friends lives on Capitol Hill now, so we went to his tiny apartment and started day drinking pretty early. Later in the evening, we went back to the street fair to watch my friend dance in the drag show that took place outside of Julia’s on Broadway. We met up with some more friends and then went to buy more alcohol and food before starting our night. We ended up at this bar that had no cover and stayed there for awhile, but I was out of it, so I don’t really remember much of what we did there. My friend drove my car back to his place, and then we all had a sleepover.

The next morning, we woke up and got ready to take the bus back to downtown Seattle. We stopped at a diner first and ate breakfast before heading up a few blocks to the parade. Unfortunately, I missed seeing George Takei, the celebrity grand marshall of the parade this year, but we didn’t miss seeing Macklemore, which was fun because I haven’t seen him in person since Bumbershoot in 2011. We made our way to the Seattle Center to join in the festivities. Again, the sun wasn’t fully out the whole day, so it kind of dampened the mood (which I should have gotten used to, having lived in the PNW my whole life). We went to go get drinks and food at this place called the Rabbit Hole in Belltown, and then headed back to the Center to pick up our friend before heading back to his place to grab my car.

We picked up our stuff and drove back to Capitol Hill, where we met up at a bar with our whole group and I got to say goodbyes to all my friends who I hadn’t seen in ages. But I am glad we got to reunite, even if it was just for a couple days. This is most likely my final Seattle Pride experience, but I am happy I got to enjoy it at least twice in my life. I’ll get to attend other PrideFests from now on, but it’s one of my favorite events of the year, and I am glad I can support my friends and the rest of the world who aren’t afraid to love who they want to love.

Leave a Reply

