Top 10 London To Do List: #3 Comedy and Improv

Counting down the weeks until I leave, I will post 1 of 10 items that are definite must dos for my time in London.

#3. Get involved with improv and stand up comedy.

I grew up in theatre, so obviously going to see as much theatre as possible will be a major thing for me, but not many people know that I also do improv and stand up comedy. I tend to be very picky when it comes to performing improv and stand up, just because I need to be in the right mood and mindset to do it, but I want to get out of my comfort zone in London and get involved with the local comedy scene.

I want to take improv classes (which I haven’t really done since middle school), as well as find open mic nights that I can frequent. I don’t know how my jokes will go off with a majority British audience, but I want to test it out and see if my words can transfer over from America, and what the audiences here laughed at when I performed. I am excited to test this out and see what happens.

I will do some more research in the upcoming months to figure out different locations or improv schools I can attend, but I am ready to jump in and get back into the comedy scene that I’ve been neglecting the past few years. I love to laugh, so why not continue to do it abroad.

Leave a Reply

