What I’m Buying Upon Arrival

Upon Arrical

I obviously cannot fit everything I want to take with me into my bag, but I figure I’ll stuff as much as I can, and then buy anything needed once I arrive in London. But there are a few super crucial items I’ll be getting pretty soon after I get to the city that I will wait to get until I land.

  1. Plane Tickets (or any travel/bus/train/boat ticket for that matter)
    My bucket list is really long and I’ve already budgeted and planned out almost all of my trips for when I’m abroad. Problem is, I don’t want to buy the tickets for these trips until I get over there, or else karma will hurt me for getting ahead of myself and something bad might happen. I will wait until September to start actually paying for the transportation for these trips and that will be better.
  2. Heels
    I was going through the shoes I’ll be taking with me, and I tried to narrow down to just a few pairs, but in the end, none of my heels made the cut, and that’s because I think I just need to wait until I get to London to head to a Primark or something and get myself some heels that’ll fit good and work for me on those occasional nights out that I’ll need them for. More room in my suitcase if I don’t pack them in advance.
  3. Coin Purse
    England uses A LOT of coinage, and when studying abroad before, I definitely had to buy a coin purse just for all the currency that didn’t fit in my wallet. I don’t really want to get one before I go, so I’ll wait until arrival and find something cute to put my money in.
  4. School Supplies & Books
    I don’t even want to think about buying notebooks and such until getting over there because that’s one extra thing to weigh my suitcase down, and as cheap as I could probably find used textbooks in America before I leave, I might as well wait and do it the traditional way and go to the university bookstore and buy all my stuff at once, rather than worry about it in advance. I know I’m heading over for grad school rather than just a fun time, but I don’t want to get ahead of myself with school stuff.
  5. Oyster Card
    Once I am officially enrolled in school, I will be able to get my student discount Oyster Card, but for the few weeks before that, I’ll be okay with getting a normal-priced one that the tourists usually use if they’re staying for a week. I just want to immediately start my adventures around the city the moment I get there, and I know I’ll feel like a true Londoner if I have an Oyster Card the minute I step off the plane.
  6. Full-Length Mirror
    Since I shall attempt to do as much fashion blogging as I can while in London, I really need a full-length mirror to not only see my full outfit, but to take photos of my entire ensemble if I can’t find a willing participant to do it for me. I get super frustrated when I can’t see the whole picture when putting together my clothing for the day, so the first buy for my dorm room will be a long and tall mirror (unless the room comes with one, but it’s doubtful).

Anyone else have any “upon arrival” buys they’d suggest? Share yours with me! 🙂

6 thoughts on “What I’m Buying Upon Arrival

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess
    I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any points for beginner blog writers?

    I’d definitely appreciate it.

    1. My biggest tip would be to constantly brainstorm unique blog post ideas and then you’ll have a list to write from you can’t think of anything! Also, social media is really important in building a following! Good luck and thanks!

  2. Ohhh I want to hear about all of the prospective trips you’ve planned! I have a whole list of places I’d like to visit throughout Europe if I get to spend a year in London.

  3. You might consider buying a rail pass if you plan on doing any travel around England, Scotland, and Wales. The best way to buy one is to buy it before you go as you can only get the great price buying it in the US and cannot get it in the UK for the same price. Look up Brit Rail on the internet and you’ll see what I am talking about. It would be great for your weekends.

    1. The rail pass is actually on my list of things to buy, but I may wait to get it a little later in the year since the majority of my traveling will be not in the UK at first and mostly in Europe.

Leave a Reply

