Tips for Starting a Travel Blog

travelblogtips

Blogging is a beautiful form of communication. It allows you to write, post photos and links, as well as tell stories in a short format that people like to read. There are news, lifestyle, food, fashion and political blogs, but a type of blog that seems to be popping up even faster than the others is the wide-covering travel blog, that is an umbrella term for anything one wishes to blog about, while traveling. Many study abroad students create a blog to write about their adventures and let their friends and family know what’s going on while they are away. Some are started as a way to inspire themselves to travel more, and some people just have so many tips already that they just want to share them with the world. Any type you are, starting a travel blog isn’t hard, and here are a few tips to create a eye-catching blog that people will really be excited to read.

Research a blogging platform

I used all the major blogging platforms before I finally decided to stick with WordPress. Blogger, Tumblr and WordPress are all great sites to upload your writing and photos to. Test out each of them, and see which has the features you need to create your content. Make sure you like the one you choose though, because transferring posts to a different is a task that is a bit more advanced, but is doable if you decide you’d rather use something else.

Invest time or money in a good design

If you have Photoshop or any sort of design talent, taking time to create a logo and layout will make you stand out from the crowd of generic blogs. If you don’t know how to do design, googling tutorials is a good place to start. Or, if you have some extra cash and want to have someone else do it for you, there are many designers you can find through Etsy and other freelancer websites who will help you make the best blog you can imagine. The prettier your blog looks, the more likely people will want to keep coming back to read your content.

Stay consistent with posts

No one likes to read an inactive blog. It’s much nicer for subscribers to get continuous content, which will also lead to loyal readers who come back for more. Posting once a month is not enough nowadays. If you want to stay up to date, you truly have to be posting at least a few times a week. It might seem like there isn’t enough going on in your life or your travels to create new content that often, but brainstorming new posts, posting about things happening in your local area or giving helpful tips will keep your blog fresh.

Switch it up

In keeping with the last tip, keeping your blog fresh is important. A travel blog can be an online diary of your day-to-day life abroad, but the formula of “Today I went to a castle, and then I did this, and then I did this and here is a picture of this…” will get very old, very fast. The people who care about you who read your blog might be interested, but if you want a wider audience of readers, you’ll want to be posting something a little different in-between the journaling and give some life to your content. Instead of a “Here’s what I did today,” post, something like, “Things I Learned About Greece,” are more fun to read.

Reach out to other bloggers

A lot of us travel bloggers are very happy to help out newbies in this realm (since we all started at some point). Email a blogger you’ve been following and ask for advice or a possible shout out to drive some traffic over to your site. We really do want to help, and are usually fine with giving out some tips. The blogging community is wonderful, friendly and always ready to meet new travelers who we can collaborate with.

Find a writing space

My go to place to write is Starbucks. The internet is free, and it takes me out of my comfort zone of my own house, which means I can’t just lay there and watch Netflix, I have to look productive! Maybe a good place for you is your room, but sometimes getting out of the norm can help with inspiration, and ambiance noise can be good for keeping your mind on your work. A coffee shop, a library, a train ride or a park are all nice locations to put your mind on your writing and creating.

Do what feels right

Your blog is really all about you, so post whatever you want and will make you happy. If you are a creative writer, make your posts all fiction. If you are a journalist, write in a news-like style. If you are a photographer and don’t like to write, just post photos. Your blog is your place to put the content you feel proud of sharing. Find a niche that works for you and go with it! And good luck new travel blogger. It’s a big world of adventurous websites, but with fun, unique content, you can definitely stand out from the crowd!

6 thoughts on “Tips for Starting a Travel Blog

  1. This is so great! I’m pretty new to blogging (as you know), and I got some excellent tips from this! Speaking of, I’d love it if you could give me a shout out sometime! :)))))

  2. Thanks for this! So true! I admit to neglecting my blog a bit….life tends to get in the way. What are your thoughts on having blogs for specific purposes – ie: a travel blog, a fitness blog, a fan blog vs a Jill of All Trades Blog? So often you hear that you need to choose one thing and blog that while I always thought, I just want to blog about lots of random things in one place.

    I head to London in Sept as well for a dream trip and hope to blog. I look forward to reading about your adventures!!!

    1. I think blogs that encompass a lot of things are awesome. Personally, I like to separate my interests into different categories, which is why I have a travel, weight loss, photography, and personal diary blog all on different sites so I can keep them maintained, but that’s what works for me, so that’s what I do. Good luck on your trip! 🙂

  3. This is some great advice! Thanks, Samantha! I arrived in London on the 15th and I’ve been considering starting a blog to keep friends and family up to date with my travels. (it gets repetitive to keep filling them in on the same things every Skype call, haha)
    Have safe travels to London!

Leave a Reply

