Liebster Award

Apparently I was nominated like six months ago and never saw it, so I’m doing it now. Thanks so much to Selene for nominating me for a Liebster Award. It’s always nice to have your blog recognized 🙂

About the Award

Liebster is a word with German origins meaning dearest, sweetest, kindest, and beloved. The Liebster Award exists only on the internet, and is an award given to bloggers by bloggers. The award is given to bloggers with less than 200 followers. The purpose of the Liebster Award is to recognize and discover upcoming talent in the blogosphere through a Pay it Forward initiative.

The Rules:

  • You must link back to the person who nominated you (but cannot nominate them).
  • You must answer the 10 questions given to the nominee before you.
  • You must select a few blogs with under 200 followers to answer your 10 questions.

Questions from Selene:

1. Where is your favorite place to travel?
I love going to Paris. I’ve been three times now and it’s my favorite place to just go to for a few days and feel the romance and beauty of the city.

2. If time and money was no problem, what would you do right now?
I’d take a round the world trip, stopping in as many countries and cities as possible.

3. If you were to step into the shoes of any person (past, present, future) for a day, who would it be and why?
I would choose to be J.K. Rowling, because she had an idea on a train that led to years of publishers turning her down until she got a book deal that led to her success today. I’d love to be inside her head and understand her thinking process as a writer and see what the world can be like for a successful author.

4. What is your best tip for bloggers out there?
Consistently come up with interesting material that is unique to you. There’s a million study abroad blogs out there, so what makes yours special? Can you draw, take great photos, write poetry? Use that special talent. No one wants to read their 100th story about your trip to London. Make it different than the rest.

5. What did you find most challenging about traveling/living/studying abroad?
Learning to adapt to a new culture can be brutal, especially as an American. We’re taught that we’re the best and how privileged we are, which means going somewhere else makes us feel weird and out of place when our needs aren’t catered to right away. I’m trying to get over this mindset.

6. What did you find most rewarding about traveling/living/studying abroad?
I love that because I live in London, I have such easy access to all of Europe and Northern Africa. I can get somewhere within 3 hours by plane and it’s the best feeling in the world. I love that I have such a world in front of me to explore.

7. What is the best gift/treat/present you ever gave yourself?
I think just applying to grad school and getting in and actually making it happen with scholarships and visa stuff was the best thing I could’ve ever done for myself. It showed me that if I push really hard, I can do anything, and now I’ll have a year of my life I can look back on fondly.

8. What/who are you listening to right now?
The Scottsboro Boys cast recording. I saw the musical on the West End a few weeks ago and became obsessed with this new Kander & Ebb soundtrack (they wrote Chicago and Cabaret too).

9. What is your favorite movie of all time?
It fluctuates between Quills, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and Amelie.

10. You win an award (ex: Nobel Prize, Oscar, BAFTA, etc.). What would it be for and how did you win it?
I would kill to win an Oscar, but not necessarily for acting. I feel like someday I could get it for something obscure like Editing or Cinematography.

My Questions:

1. Favorite quote?
2. What film or book genre do you think your life is? What do you want it to be?
3. What’s at the top of your bucketlist?
4. If you were made ruler of a country, would you accept the position? Why or why not?
5. If you had to choose a singular location to live for the rest of your life, where would you choose?
6. What current celebrity or popular figure would you be incredibly torn up over if they were to die right now?
7. What is your favorite mode of transportation? (bus, train, plane, boat, bike, rollerblades, etc…)
8. Do you think your favorite beverage (tea, coffee, wine, whatever) says a lot about you as a person?
9. Who is your role model (real or fictional)?
10. What song would you sing for a reality television show audition, and why?

My Nominees:

1. A Rose By Any Other Name: This is my friend Madelaine from university who just spent her last year studying abroad in London and is now back in America.
2. Across the Hogs Back: An American blogger who’s currently studying for her Phd in the UK.
3. Anthropologist Abroad: Another American expat getting her Museum Studies MA at the University of Leicester.
4. The Anglo-Files: This is my friend Taylor, who is currently studying alongside me at the University of Westminster.
5. Tea and Giggles: This lucky girl is moving across the pond to London very soon and is blogging about her impending move.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Thank you so much for the nomination Samantha! I’m so grateful for the support you’ve given me whilst exploring the blogging world and I had a lot of fun reading your post. I can’t wait to answer your questions, you asked us some good ones!

  2. Congrats on the award. And I loved your questions–very interesting, thought- provoking, and insightful. Would love to read her answers.

Leave a Reply

